Top Menu

Certificate Evening 2018

On Thursday 22nd November, Ryedale School welcomed back its former Year 11 students to celebrate their fantastic achievements at GCSE in the summer. This cohort achieved an incredible Progress 8 score of 0.88 (unvalidated until January 2019) which places Ryedale School in the top 2% of schools in the country – well done the class of 2018! The evening included an address from former Head Boy Patrick Stone and former Head Girl Nell Thackray and entertainment from our brass ensemble conducted by Mr Williamson and consisting of Annabel Kent, Conor Lally, George Larson, Jonah Pollard, Elise Smith and Pippa Williamson.

82% of students achieved a Grade 4 or above (standard pass) in English and maths, 61% of students gained a Grade 5 or above (strong pass) in English and maths and 34% of all grades achieved were top grades: A*/A/7/8/9 which is truly exceptional. Most importantly, students of all abilities achieved success and their individual achievements were recognised on this evening, attended by students, parents and staff.

The following students were presented with a Subject Award or a Special Award on the evening:

English – Patrick Stone; English Literature – Jacob Head; Mathematics – Elise Smith; Steve Underwood Award for Additional Maths –Jacob Head; Triple Science – Patrick Stone; Double Science – Elise Smith; Geography – Abigail Smith; History – Imogen Coutts; French – Nell Thackray; Spanish – Finlay Saunders; Foreign Languages – Finlay Saunders; Jubilee Cup for Art – Abigail Smith; Davison Cup for Design Technology – Jacob Barbour; Nichol’s Cup for Food Technology – Emma Cockerill; Physical Education – Abigail Smith; Austin Davison Cup for Drama – Georgia Radka; Bob Ing Trophy for Musical Achievement – Patrick Stone; Award for Performing Arts – Amy Richardson.

The last of the awards for achievement was for all round academic excellence (best exam results). Patrick Stone was awarded the Wrightson Trophy for achieving nine GCSEs at grade 9 or A* (and one at grade 8).

The four Special awards nominated by the Ryedale staff each year were presented to the following students:

  • Mike Scott Award for Supportive Leadership – Holly Macfarlane
  • Thelma Guy Award for Exceptional Achievement – Andrew Allick
  • Heather Linley Award for Exceptional Progress – Toby Antcliff
  • Michael Foster Award for Service to School and Community – Nell Thackray

Certificate evening

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to allow us to see how the site is used. The cookies cannot identify you. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. More information.