Top Menu

Carnegie Shadowing Group

The Carnegie Medal is awarded every year to the author of an outstanding fiction book for young people. It is the UK’s most prestigious prize for a book written for young people.

The Library has purchased multiple copies of the 8 books and the English Department will be running a Reading group for pupils in Years 8 & 9, at lunchtimes. The group commences on Tuesday 19th April.

The winner of the Carnegie Medal is announced in June.

More about the award.

Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919)

Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919)

It was established by in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). Carnegie was a self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA. His experience of using a library as a child led him to resolve that “if ever wealth came to me that it should be used to establish free libraries.”

Carnegie set up more than 2800 libraries across the English speaking world and, by the time of his death, over half the library authorities in Great Britain had Carnegie libraries.

First awarded to Arthur Ransome for ‘Pigeon Post’, the winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.

The medal is awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.

Comments are closed.

This website uses cookies to allow us to see how the site is used. The cookies cannot identify you. If you continue to use this site we will assume that you are happy with this. More information.